East – Willie King

Willie King

Willie King

Name:

Willie King

Where are you from:

Born in Glasgow (Giffnock), raised in East Kilbride, and currently live in Hamilton.

Occupation: Technical representative with Three Nations which involves sub-contract work for breweries including; Molson Coors, Belhaven, and gas supplier BOC. I carry out installations and maintenance work in the leisure and event industry throughout Scotland.

Age: 58

Family details:

Married to my wife Aileen for 31 years; she is a GP and keen curler. We have two children, Brian and Helen. Brian (26) is a Physiotherapist working for both the NHS and Scottish Rugby. He lives in Glasgow with his partner Fiona. Helen (23) graduated last year with a degree in English and Journalism studies. She is currently working as a Merchandiser for Sekonda but hopes to pursue a career in media production. They also curl, participating in both club matches and competitions.

What is your club/are your clubs: East Kilbride and Haremyres Curling Club. (EK&H)

Proudest achievement in curling:

Winning Ek&H’s main club competition (The Forest Punchbowl) last season, after 40 years of trying. Also being  a past-president of the club.

What are you doing now in curling:

Continuing with club and inter-club matches while also participating in some open competitions at Lanarkshire Ice Rink.

What motivated you to come on tour:

The opportunity to fulfil a life-long ambition fuelled by the accounts of previous EK&H tourists. I was also motivated by a desire to visit Canada and see the Canadian curling set-up first hand. 

What are you most looking forward to/what have you enjoyed most about tour:

Meeting new people and getting to know my fellow tourists. Visiting the different venues and clubs, and of course a bit of curling.

 

Any specific roles in the tour planning and/or during the tour: I have been given Morning class duties on the first week of the tour and I will no doubt tell some stories and sing some songs along the way. 

Other sports: The odd round of golf and walking.

Other interests: Watching Motherwell F.C., playing cards, and a bit of gardening.

 


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>